Enjoying My Obscurity + Passion Projects

Passion Project

HeylenThienes -Roar

This weekend, I realized three things: I need to enjoy my obscurity, I need to work on side projects to rekindle my love for design every now and again, and I need to make more things with my hands.

I’ve been reading ‘Steal Like an Artist’ by Austin Kleon, and in his ‘The Secret: Do good work and share with people’ chapter he talks about how we need to enjoy our obscurity and the freedom it allows us in doing whatever we want as there’s no pressure – leading to fun, random (side) projects, that inspire us to do other great things.  Being fairly new to the blogging world, I would say that yes, I’m definitely obscure, I don’t have thousands of readers and it’s mostly my friends and family that read this blog, which is great because those are the people that hold me most accountable.

But this sparked something  that led to the other two things that I realized. And I decided to go back to the thing that actually got me started in graphic design, the love of fashion magazines and collages, getting my hands dirty;  so I picked up my copy of Vogue from March 2012, grabbed my scissors and glue and took over the dining table. And you can see the results above and below. HeylenThienes-March While I don’t think I’m going to be the next collage artist, I did really enjoy doing this, and I specifically enjoyed the idea of being obscure, it had never occurred to me that I’m working on something so special,  what I do with my time and skills is unique and constantly growing and getting better; and even though my work is not famous and  sometimes it’s frustrating  to be ‘unknown’, it’s fun to be obscure and allow myself this freedom to grow naturally.

 Top: Illustration from a Manalo Blahnik ad, Bottom: Mila Kunis for Dior.

Leave a Reply

